When logging out, our initial desktop background might¹ reappear. At this point, we've stopped updating it, so it will no longer be correctly adjusted for the current session size and monitor layout. This, of course, looks bad.
Fortunately, in most cases the logout is quick and users barely see the background at this stage.
¹ Depending on desktop environment, but it happens with the big ones